24 Hour Readathon, Other bookish posts, Readathons

Jade’s 24 Hour Readathon Wrap-up

24 hour readathon

On Tuesday I posted my announcement/TBR post where I said I was going to participate in Jade’s 24 Hour Readathon that happened yesterday. I never did a 24 hour readathon before and I’ve always wanted to and it turned out yesterday was the perfect day for a 24 hour readathon. So here’s how I did…

2:30 AM – 8:30 AM

For me, the readathon started at 2:30 am on Wednesday but at the time I was sleeping (I’m not a night owl). I woke up at 8:30 am so I wasted 6 out of 24 hours on sleeping already. Not so great start, right?

8:30 AM – 1:30 PM

I decided to start off my reading day with an audiobook of The Raven Boys. I had already been 32% into the book prior to this readathon so I decided to finish it. So that’s what I did. By 1:30 pm I was done with the book and my page count was now on 205 (ebook pages, which is less that the actual book but whatever).

1:30 PM – 3:00 PM

When I finished The Raven Boys I realised I have approximately an hour and a half left before my parents come home and I was supposed to make lunch during that time so another audiobook was the logical choice. I decided to listen to Never, Never: Part Two bacause it was the perfect lenght. I finished it at exactly 3 pm and my page count was 289 at that point (Never, Never was only 84 ebook pages).

3:00 PM – 4:15 PM

I didn’t read anything. My parents came home from work, we had lunch and I was hanging out with them for a bit.

4:15 PM – 10:00 PM

At 4:15 pm I decided to start reading a physical book and so I picked up Flawed. I was reading it on and off during the entire afternoon and evening and managed to read only 174 pages of it. At 10 pm my page count was on 463. I obviously slowed down and read a lot less than in the first half of the day but I was still reading more than usual and I was content with my progress.

10:00 PM – 12:00 AM

At that point I decided to go upstairs to my room and started listening to an audiobook of Lucky in Love. That was a very impusle decision, but it was a good one. I was quite sleepy at that point (because I usually take a nap in the afternoon and I didn’t do so yesterday) and I needed something easy and fun because otherwise I would’ve fallen asleep after five minutes. At midnight my page count was on 554 pages (91 ebook pages of Lucky in Love).

12:00 AM – 2:30 AM

At midnight I couldn’t do it anymore. I started dozing off and wasn’t paying full attention to what I was listening to so I figured it was time to go to sleep. My original plan was to stay up until 2:30 am but since I didn’t take any naps during the day and I hadn’t drunk a single drop of coffee, I couldn’t do it.


24HOURREADATHON

Here are all the books I read and how much of each book I managed to read. My total number of pages read is 554 and since my goal was to read 500, I call that a success. I did a little math because I was curious how many pages I have actually read (not ebook pages but pages of a real book) and it turned out to be 745 which is A LOT and I’m so proud of myself. I have never read so much in just one day (in 15 and a half hours, actually, since I was sleeping during the rest).

I definitely plan to do another 24 Hour Readathon in the future (Zoe @ readbyzoe is hosting one on October 14th and I’m probably going to participate) because this one was so much fun and it motivated me to read! Thank you so much to Jade for hosting this (although I believe the two of us were the only ones participating) and if you haven’t yet, make sure to check out Jade’s blog Drink Coffee and Read Books!

13 thoughts on “Jade’s 24 Hour Readathon Wrap-up”

  1. Wow, great job for your first 24 Hour Readathon.

    Also happening in October is Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon, and the next session of 24 Hourathon (both will be on October 21). Right now I’m going to see about trying to do Zoe’s readathon on the 14th and then do Dewey’s on the 21st.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. wow, that’s a great wrapup! 🙂 you can be very proud!
    how do you like “lucky in love” so far?
    aaaand: where do you get your audiobooks? i am curious, because i just have one credit per month with audible and i feel, i need more audiobooks in my life haha 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m not sure how I feel about Lucky in Love. I’m quite annoyed with the narrator so I’m not enjoying it as much as I wanted to but the plot is okay so far.
      I use my library for audiobooks, sorry I don’t have some great recommendation haha

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

