Reviews, Spoiler-free

Review | The Bone Season

review

Author: Samantha Shannon
Title: The Bone Season
Series: The Bone Season #1
Published: August 20th 2013
Format: print
Pages: 417
Goodreads

I had heard a lot of people talking about The Bone Season but I couldn’t remember if people actually liked it or not so I went into it without any expectations. I was blown away by how fantastic this book is.

Everyone complains how they had trouble getting into this book because the world was confusing and there was too much info dumping. I cannot disagree more. I was immediately sucked into the story because from page one there is action. We are thrown into this world head first and we are learning everything about along the way. That is how world building shluld be done – gradually learning about the new stuff. In my opinion, the world building is impeccably well done and unlike anything I’ve ever read. Fantasy dystopian isn’t the genre I often reach out for (mostly because there aren’t enough books in the genre) but I enjoy every single book I read from said genre.

Paige, the main character, turned out to be a surprisingly decent YA heroine. Yes, she did make some stupid mistakes and was stubborn and reckless like most of the other main characters in this genre BUT her choices seemed rational and made sense. She had believable motives and she remained consistent throughout the entire book, which I really appreciated. Other chatacters weren’t very developed, I admit, but it wasn’t really neccessary for them to be very flashed out since this book is mostly plot driven and characters’ personalities don’t play a very big part.

THE ROMANCE. I loved it. Fabulous. That’s how I want every romance ever to be written. It reminded me a bit of the romance in Uprooted by Naomi Novik and that is one of my favorite romances of all time so that says something. It was subtle, slow burning and defiitely not insta-lovey. It took time to developed, it dodn’t seem forced and it just made sense. Perfect. Also, romance is a very minor plotline in the entire book, if you don’t look for it (but I did) you probably wouldn’t even notice it until the very end. I’m very satisfied with it, if you can’t tell.

Here’s the thing about me: big books intimidate me and I hardly ever pick up long fantasy books. However, I flew through The Bone Season and am now craving the sequel (which is even longer). So much happened in this first installment, the plot was very action-packed and complex and before I knew it, I was already on the last chapter. Very addictive. Very good.

If there is anyone out there who hasn’t already read this book (and I doubt that since I’m pretty late on this bandwagon), please read it, I promise you won’t regret it.

4 thoughts on “Review | The Bone Season”

  1. I think I read a chapter or two of this a couple years ago but then got distracted by other books…so The Bone Season still sits on my TBR, but I keep hearing more and more people talking recently about how much they enjoyed the book. I’ll have to get around to actually reading it soon enough.

    Like

  2. This book sounds so good! I actually almost checked it out last time I was at the library, and then didn’t ( I don’t remember why?). But I definitely want to read it now!! I’ve been hearing such good things about it lately!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

