Tags

TAG | Books I’ll NEVER read

books i'll never read tag

I saw this tag over on Jay’s booktube channel, Captured In Words and I thought I should do it as well. We always talk about books we’ve read and loved but noone talks about books we don’t plan to read and reasons for that so this tag is pretty much perfect. Also, there are only 5 questions so this is going to be a short post but I hope you enjoy and nobody kills me after reading my answers.

1. A REALLY HYPED BOOK YOU’RE NOT INTERESTED IN READING?

I know some of these are the first book in a series but I guess these could also be considered a standalone because a lot of people read only the first book and never continue with the rest. And I also have better answers for the next question.

There was the time when I really wanted to read Outlander but it’s not that time anymore. And it’s way too long for me to waste my time on something I don’t feel like reading.  When it comes to 50 Shades, I actually kind of want to read it, mostly because of curiosity. I want to see for myself what all the fuss is about but I don’t really want to be seen reading this book so I will probably never pick it up. And Tales of the Shadowhunter Academy is the whole other story. I tried reading it, i read the first trhee stories or so and they were okay BUT something just puts me off. I love TMI and it’s one of my favorite series but something just doesn’t work for me when it comes to this book. I still hope I will acutally finish this some day but I don’t see that happening in the near future.

2. A SERIES YOU WON’T START/WON’T BE FINISHING?

I have a couple answers for both parts of this question so let’s make everyone angry.

I have no intention to ever read the Throne of Glass series and A Court of Thorns and Roses series. I just don’t want to read Sarah J. Mass’ books in general. I don’t have a valid reason for that since I’ve never read anything by her but I don’t like her as a person and I also the hype just killed it. Sorry, not sorry.

When it comes to continuing/ finshing series, I don’t plan to read Allegiant, the third and final book in Divergent trilogy. I read the first two – I really liked Divergent and I think Insurgent was okay but I don’t see myself ever reading Allegiant. Too much time has passed since I read the first two books and that’s probably the main reason. I also don’t see myself ever reading A Dance WIth Dragons or any further books in A Song of Ice and FIre series (I he ever publishes another one, which I doubt). I have read the first four book in this series long time ago and now that I’ve watched the tv show so many times, I don’t think I would enjoy the books as much (and they’re also SO LONG). Kind of sad about it, but it’s realistic. And lastly, we have here Clockwork Princess. Who didn’t hate me after saying what I said about TOG and ACOTAR, they will hate me now. I’ve read the first two books and they were okay but I’m just not interested in this series whatsoever. I gave it a go because I adore TMI, but I didn’t find TDI nearly as engaging and fun. I definitely see why people like it but it’s not for me. For years I’ve been telling myself that I’m going to finish it, but let’s face it, I won’t. Sorry.

3. A CLASSIC THAT YOU’RE JUST NOT INTERESTED IN?

10210

Almost every classic out there. No, seriously, I’m not that interested in classics and I don’t see myself reading classics in the future now that I don’t have to read them for school anymore. But the one that first came to mind was Jane Eyre so I’m going with it as my answer for this question.

4. ANY GENRES YOU NEVER READ?

I try to give every genre a shot because if a book is good and enjoyable, I don’t really care which genre it is. However, I rarely pick up historical fiction just because I rarely find books that sound interesting in that genre. Another one would probably be adult high fantasy becuase these books tend to be super long and dense and I’m rarely in the mood for that.

5. A BOOK ON YOUR SHELVES YOU’LL PROBABLY NEVER ACTUALLY READ?

17345242

I recently unhauled a bunch of books which meand I don’t have a lot to talk about here. The only answer I can give is The World of Ice and Fire. This book is beautiful and I got it as a gift from my parents but it’s that type of book you can’t really sit down and read until you finish it. I will read parts of it here and there but I will never “properly” read it and I’m fine with that.


And this is it for this tag! I wasn’t tagged by anyone to do it but I will tag Arya (Arya’s Fangirl Lexicon). Also, if anyone else wants to do this tag, consider yourself tagged as well and put the link to your post in the comments because I’d love to see it.

9 thoughts on “TAG | Books I’ll NEVER read”

  1. Hmm. Okay, I guess I can understand that. A couple years ago I met Stephen Amell at a Comic Con and I had paid VIP ticket prices to get his autograph and a photo with him. He didn’t even make eye contact with me as he signed a photo for me. So I had a not at all pleasant encounter, especially considering that I paid what amounted to $100 for the experience. And yet talking with others and seeing many fan encounters with him online, he is so great with his fans. So I chalked my experience up to him being stressed because of his busy schedule and because he had been signing autographs for many hours.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Eh, I don’t hate people for their opinions on books they don’t like or don’t want to read. Just our of curiosity though, why don’t you like Sarah J Maas as a person?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I heard a couple of people having some not very pleasant experiences with her meaning she was rude to her fans and acting like she was better than them.

      Like

  3. Interesting tag! Actually, I did read 50 shades of Grey last year lol One of my twitter friends was like, ‘I wanna see how steamy and erotic the book is!!’ and then I got tempted and ended up picking it up. She almost DNF’d immediately (but eventually finished a couple of weeks ago) but I literally gobbled it up in 3 days. I personally found it more like an overly sugary romance with a bit too many sex scenes; the writing is of course, not of high quality. It was sort of like brain candy lol

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I don’t really know why I don’t want to read it since I read and enjoy a lot of New Adult steamy books with not so great writing. I guess the hype surrounding it just made me not want to read it.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I think I know what you’re talking about… in fact, I have absolutely no intention whatsoever to read Sarah J. Maas either. The reason no.1 is the hype: literally everyone is reading it and then it makes me not want to read it – I don’t want to do/pick up something just because everyone else is doing /reading it. No.2 is the cover : I just cannot take that cover… it’s a bit too transparent to read in public lol

        Liked by 1 person

        1. I actually quite like the covers of Maas’ books but yeah, the hype is a huge problem. Everyone is just so ANNOYING when talking about her books, like these are the only good books out there. I believe I would actually like Throne of Glass and A Court of Thorns and Roses if I read them because these are the type of books I usually enjoy but I just really don’t want to give them a shot because everyone and their mother is talking about them.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. i feel you when it comes to classics. i hated them back in school! but now after many many many years (ok, i am not that old 😂) i love them. it just came suddenly and i read at least one classic a month. maybe this will change for you too! i hope it does, because “jane eyre” is amazing 😍

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

